Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
jimlOffline
Post subject: FIXED Unable to control monitor brightnesss since Kernel 3.4  PostPosted: 25.05.2012, 15:40



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
Since the upgrade to kernel 3.4 I seem to be unable to control the brightness on my Toshiba L655D laptop, could this have something to do with an additional error message while booting.

From syslog;
      Code:
microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin
microcode: CPU1: patch_level=0x010000b6
microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin
microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran>, Peter Oruba

Jim!


Last edited by jiml on 28.07.2012, 01:48; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
heppOffline
Post subject: RE: Unable to control monotor brightnesss since Kernel 3.4  PostPosted: 26.05.2012, 09:00



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 30
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Status: Offline
The file you want is found in the tar file here http://www.amd64.org/support/microcode.html
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jimlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.05.2012, 12:57



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
Hepp, thanks for the link, it solved the error message but is obviously unrelated to the inability to control brightness as problem still exists.

Jim!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gryphonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 28.05.2012, 21:57



Joined: 2012-04-02
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
I too see this since 3.4 on a 64-bit Sony Vaio VGN-FW512Z with ATI graphics. It is very annoying so reverting to latest 3.3 kernel for now. Obviously this kills battery life away from the mains.

gryphon
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gryphonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.06.2012, 22:17



Joined: 2012-04-02
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
I can confirm that the micro makes no difference. With the latest kernel (3.4-0.slh.4-aptosid-amd64 and since 3.4 in general) controlling screen brightness no longer works.

Anyone else seeing this? Any pointers on where to look for a possible solution?

Thanks,
gryphon
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gryphonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.06.2012, 09:46



Joined: 2012-04-02
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
These bugs appear to cover this https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=43231 and https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=43310 but no progress so far.

gryphon
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.06.2012, 16:41



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 326

Status: Offline
FWIW, I do not see this in my Lenovo T510, i.e., brightness works fine.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gryphonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.06.2012, 20:43



Joined: 2012-04-02
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
Update - this appears to be fixed according to https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=43168 so we can expect to see this working again in a newer kernel.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gryphonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.07.2012, 12:36



Joined: 2012-04-02
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
Upgrading to the 3.5 Kernel fixes this problem for me - however. I did need to remove the following from:

      Code:
acpi_osi=linux acpi_backlight=vendor


from the line:

      Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet"


in

      Code:
/etc/default/grub


and re-run

      Code:

# update-grub


I'd previously added those additional entries when I was using the 3.4 kernel in an effort to fix the problem. Thought I'd post here in case anyone else upgrades to 3.5 and this still appears broken. That's what happened to me - removing the acpi references and regenerating my grub.cfg solved it for me (after a re-boot of course).

If jiml can confirm this now works for him I think this thread can be marked as solved.

gryphon
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.07.2012, 13:29



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 761

Status: Offline
Thanks for testing.

"acpi_osi=linux" is usually an error, because even though this would be the right setting in theory, vendors only test the windows specific code paths, therefore linux masquerades itself as windows to ACPI to avoid these untested and usually broken APCI code paths.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jimlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 28.07.2012, 01:45



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
I can can confirm that with kernel 3.5 I can now control the brightness again, thanks guys.

Jim! Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio