Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
CaesarTjalboOffline
Post subject: multi-arch, ia32-libs  PostPosted: 10.11.2012, 22:37



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 95
Location: Enschede
Status: Offline
I got Codeweavers Crossover recently through the 'Flock the vote' action. I'd like to use it to play some old Windows games (GTA VC, Halflife, etc.) on my 64-bit system.

My system knows i386 as 'foreign architecture' (i.e. it's multi-arch). I'll need ia32-libs, iirc it's even a dependency for Crossover. ia32-libs however is not multi-arch compatible (version conflict leads to dependency problems).

What would be the best course of action? Is there a work-around? Forget about it for now?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: multi-arch, ia32-libs  PostPosted: 11.11.2012, 07:20
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
I don't have nor need ia32-libs,ia32-libs-i386,ia32-libs-gtk installed

This is what I have installed at the moment with wine.

I play all the halflife's, (need steam to play except for 1st one) quakes, kingpin, prey, left for dead 2, bioshock, cod, crysis, max payne (1 & 2) postal 2, starlancer (which is a microsoft game) system shock 2, team apache

and my favorite, which I am hooked - skyrim (the elder scrolls series)

64 bit is tough with gaming, it breaks, (either video or dependencies :i386) I always have a 32 bit partition because of that reason, 32bit is a stable gaming environment, however, I game mostly on 64 bit, till it breaks and pisses me off, then I swear I will stick to 32 bit, and then it's fixed Wink

I use nvidia

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: RE: multi-arch, ia32-libs  PostPosted: 12.11.2012, 01:55
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
If you use MultiArch you have to install the i386 NOT the amd64 of these packages. Installing wine on an amd64 system will automatically install wine-bin:i386 (the wine:amd64 package is just for transition/convenience). If you install stuff manually you have to do this yourself.

I never used Crossover nor am I a heavy gamer - also because my main system isn't exactly a powerhorse (i3 with its integrated intel graphic card), but I have played/tested Half Life and GTA VC on this machine with wine. Looking at the wine-database entries will help you a lot in getting many games to work (the older the better -- Settler I and II are working faboulus! Wink ). It is usually not much more difficult than running a winetricks (packaged) command or two. GTA VC requires an additional package through: libtxc-dxtn0 - please applaud for the involved software patents … Wink

(I have to say that GTA 3, GTA VC and GTA SA have "funky" graphical glitches even on low details which come and go, but I guess that is more related to my intel GPU than wine)

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
CaesarTjalboOffline
Post subject: RE: multi-arch, ia32-libs  PostPosted: 12.11.2012, 20:59



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 95
Location: Enschede
Status: Offline
I'm still mulling this over. Since it's just for gaming, i.e. not the situation where I'd want to run into complications, I think a separate partition with 32 bit software is probably the easiest in the long run. I'll take the occasional reboot and fight with grub2 for granted.

The best way to view this thread is to understand that I'm a little disappointed. Experimenting with Wine in the past hasn't made me a happier person and I must say that Crossover worked very smooth (except of course that I haven't got it to run any games yet). I had big reservations about multi-arch but it seems to work nicely (except of course that I haven't been able to install one specific i386 (meta-)package).

Oh well, I'll mull just a bit more.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio