This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
apogarteOffline
Post subject: graphics problem on dell vostro 3555 with radeon hd6520 chip  PostPosted: 18.01.2013, 14:20



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
hi

i've decided to give a try to latest aptosid, downloaded the kdefull version, cated on an usb 8G key and rebooted.

boot's alright but i get stuck on a grey black white snowy screen with nothing working not even a console. tried "secure settings with no luck.

processor is AMD A6-3400M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics

i suppose there is a workaround like ati radeonmodeset=0 but can you confirm that ??

thanks,

apogarte
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: graphics problem on dell vostro 3555 with radeon hd6520  PostPosted: 18.01.2013, 15:35



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 688

Status: Offline
Check "Kernel based Mode Setting (KMS) and cirrus-drm/ intel/ matrox/ nvidia/ radeon graphics" from the release notes.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: graphics problem on dell vostro 3555 with radeon hd6  PostPosted: 19.01.2013, 18:57



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
      slh wrote:
Check "Kernel based Mode Setting (KMS) and cirrus-drm/ intel/ matrox/ nvidia/ radeon graphics" from the release notes.


thanks slh i had read the release notes too fast it seems. It actually works fine. How about the possibility to use a free driver for this machine ? also sorry if this is not the right place i would add the touchpad (alps) is not recognised from live system (wich gives no possibility to suspend touchpad while tiping)

if interresting to you i add some more infos about this machine

      Code:

aptosid@aptosid:~$ infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "aptosid" running Linux 3.6-8.slh.3-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2012-01 Θάνατος - kde-full - (201212010120) ]
CPU Info        4x AMD A6-3400M APU with Radeon HD Graphics 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 800.000 MHz ]
Videocard       Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI BeaverCreek [Radeon HD 6520G]  X.Org 1.12.4  [ 1024x768@61.0hz ]
Network cards   Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit
                Atheros AR9285 Wireless
Processes 161 | Uptime 15min | Memory 515.5/3432.6MB | HDD SAMSUNG HM500JJ Size 508GB (0%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x209) | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.45
aptosid@aptosid:~$ if this is not the right place i would add





thanks for your work
may be read from you later

apogarte
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: graphics problem on dell vostro 3555 with radeon  PostPosted: 19.01.2013, 22:24



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 688

Status: Offline
radeon is a free and open source driver, however it does rely on uploading proprietary firmware (read AtomBIOS) to the graphics card - and regresses badly in their absence (at least for r6xx and upwards). Once you have installed the firmware, it ought to work properly and you can drop the modeset disabling.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: graphics problem on dell vostro 3555 with radeon  PostPosted: 26.01.2013, 09:44



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
thanks for these precisions. works fine.

apog
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio