Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 05:49



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 293

Status: Offline
      redsid wrote:
Yes, there is still an xorg problem on my 32 bit but I assure you I have (2) amd64 installations updated as of this moment and in perfect working order including grub. You did notice the grub update configuration decision you had to make, didn't you?


Yes, I use apt-listbugs and there is a bug report. Thus, I decided to hold grub for a while.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: 32 bit vienna mirror still bit/borked.  PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 07:46



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
      snvv wrote:
everything "works" but the desktop response is very slow.

So if you want a fast as usually aptosid system better to wait a bit before DU.


32 bit using the vienna mirror still borked x and i had to enable the experimental repo, ala slam (i thought x stuff that was being upgraded was enuff, but alas was not).

but i'm not liking the way this feels now... it's like my mouse pointer is under water. i used to be able to go corner to ddddiagonal corner on this netbook with just a flick of a finger (others found the extreme responsiveness disconcerting but i liked it). now i've got to push push push eight or ten times to get across the screen. maybe this is a configuration issue... but i know i've got better things to use my finger-diddle energy on than this ddamn machine.

i'm not "upgrading" any more systems til i'm happier with the way this system works.

ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
nindnarneOffline
Post subject: fglrx seems to be broken though...?  PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 12:00



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 2

Status: Offline
I did the big update, which went fine. Minus that I got a seg 11 fault when trying to launch X, which seems to be from a suspend_resume issue with fglrx.

I did reboot to see if that would help (nope), and I also ran aticonfig --initial to generate a new xorg file.

I switched to the open source driver which works fine.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject: Re: fglrx seems to be broken though...?  PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 12:06



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 293

Status: Offline
      nindnarne wrote:
I switched to the open source driver which works fine.


Mine does not work fine. 3D & composing does not work any more and I have 59 FPS instead of 850-900 I used to have (with composing enabled).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 12:32



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
is there a bugreport regarding grub-common? if so, i cant find it. a lot of machines i know of (~20) with 32-bit and 64-bit do not show the problem.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hopimetOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 12:41



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
      snvv wrote:
      devil wrote:
the xorg issue will be fixed in a few hours, all packages were uploaded to sid 1 hour ago


Is it OK now. I just DU (aptosid 64 bit) and everything works.
So problem is solved.


Well, but it is not OK with i386.
apt-get d-u still suggests to remove xorg.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: grub-common broken?  PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 12:48



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 41

Status: Offline
No, I didn't file a bug report regarding grub-common. I wasn't sure if it was a bug or something else. Should I file one now?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 14:55



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 293

Status: Offline
      hopimet wrote:
      snvv wrote:
      devil wrote:
the xorg issue will be fixed in a few hours, all packages were uploaded to sid 1 hour ago


Is it OK now. I just DU (aptosid 64 bit) and everything works.
So problem is solved.


Well, but it is not OK with i386.
apt-get d-u still suggests to remove xorg.


Yes, as soon as I realized that I changed the title to be SOLVED for 64 bit system.
According to some posts here I thought i386 was not affected by the xorg problem (I use only 64 bit systems).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hopimetOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 15:28



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
Does anyone know if the problem of d-u is going to be solved for 32 bit system ? Should it be useful to open a new thread for that ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hefeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 17:37



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 26

Status: Offline
no ist doesn't makes sence. 'cause it'll take at most one day till the serve have build it 32bit;) I'll think with the next sync (six hours) all will be ok ...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 18:18
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      ankscorek wrote:
ok i did a dist-upgrade and it asked me to remove xserver etc...i clicked yes because i was sure i had towo solution..

after the dist-upgrade i did

      Code:

init 3
apt-get -t experimental install xserver-xorg-input-evdev xserver-xorg-video-vesa


the installation was successful but bump init 5 did not respond

so to get it back i purged all xseerver files and then reinstalled xserver from squeeze repo using

      Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg


i guess the xserver issues are still there


I'm sorry but no, you should have installed two drivers from experimental *before* dist-upgrade removes the xorg...

but now all drivers are on sid (in i385, too, at least here) so you don't need them as separate command.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
catalinusOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 19:32



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 27
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
dist-upgrade went fine, but after going in init 5 I had a surprise - now the response time of touchpad is very slow. By chance, does anyone knows what I could do to fix this? Running xfce 64bit on a HP notebook with ATi Radeon X1250.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 20:00
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      catalinus wrote:
dist-upgrade went fine, but after going in init 5 I had a surprise - now the response time of touchpad is very slow. By chance, does anyone knows what I could do to fix this? Running xfce 64bit on a HP notebook with ATi Radeon X1250.


you mean, the speed of moving?
It seems touchpad can be configured with
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf

From google hits, this wiki of Arch seems good reference.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Touchpad_Synaptics
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/To ... nf_example


playing with the values of:
      Code:

Section "InputClass"
      Identifier "touchpad"
      Driver "synaptics"
      MatchIsTouchpad "on"
    # Speed
    Option "MinSpeed" "0.4"
    Option "MaxSpeed" "0.7"
    Option "AccelFactor" "0.00995223"
EndSection
#

(also see "man synaptics")

you get the best option?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
catalinusOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 20:28



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 27
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:
      catalinus wrote:
dist-upgrade went fine, but after going in init 5 I had a surprise - now the response time of touchpad is very slow. By chance, does anyone knows what I could do to fix this? Running xfce 64bit on a HP notebook with ATi Radeon X1250.


you mean, the speed of moving?
It seems touchpad can be configured with
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf

From google hits, this wiki of Arch seems good reference.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Touchpad_Synaptics
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/To ... nf_example


playing with the values of:
      Code:

Section "InputClass"
      Identifier "touchpad"
      Driver "synaptics"
      MatchIsTouchpad "on"
    # Speed
    Option "MinSpeed" "0.4"
    Option "MaxSpeed" "0.7"
    Option "AccelFactor" "0.00995223"
EndSection
#

(also see "man synaptics")

you get the best option?


Yes, the speed of moving.

Well... I don't have such file.

Another issue I discovered - flash (I have an old libflashplayer-10.0.45.2.linux-x86_64.so) will crash any gecko browser (in my case iceweasel and kazehakase), no issues with webkit (kasehakase-webkit).

      Code:
~$ iceweasel

(firefox-bin:4161): Gdk-WARNING **: XID collision, trouble ahead
The program 'firefox-bin' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)'.
  (Details: serial 11782 error_code 8 request_code 140 minor_code 3)
  (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
   that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
   To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
   option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
   backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
Segmentation fault


No more help wanted, but maybe someone will find usefull the reported issues Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 20:36
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      Quote:

Yes, the speed of moving.

Well... I don't have such file.


you need to make it yourself.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio