Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
CaesarTjalboOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Maybe solved  PostPosted: 02.11.2012, 14:52



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 95
Location: Enschede
Status: Offline
Might there be some issue (what i don't know) with the location for temporary internet files?

(I've no clue really but the symptoms suggest a different problem to me)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Maybe solved  PostPosted: 02.11.2012, 16:33
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:
but you mix things... you have tried new user before reinstallation,
you tried new insteration with old configuration.
So from what I see, you have never tried fresh configuration after
reinstallation. In other word, we don't know if pristine aptosid
after installation on your PC functions properly or not.


Exact reason(s) I never use a separate home on a rolling release, it *can muck things up if not watched carefully.

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Maybe solved  PostPosted: 03.11.2012, 14:18



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      piper wrote:
      muchan wrote:
but you mix things... you have tried new user before reinstallation,
you tried new insteration with old configuration.
So from what I see, you have never tried fresh configuration after
reinstallation. In other word, we don't know if pristine aptosid
after installation on your PC functions properly or not.


Exact reason(s) I never use a separate home on a rolling release, it *can muck things up if not watched carefully.


You CAN have a separate /home if you rename your old /home/$USERNAME and then allow the installer to put /home on the root partition. Move the /home/$USERNAME to the partition where you keep your /home and add an entry in fstab for it. Don't forget to move your data from your backed up old username to the new one.

Hope that helps
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.11.2012, 11:56



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:
but you mix things... you have tried new user before reinstallation,

No, I've tried a new user before and after the new installation: both times with the same result: iceweasel could not start.

      muchan wrote:
you tried new insteration with old configuration.
So from what I see, you have never tried fresh configuration after
reinstallation. In other word, we don't know if pristine aptosid
after installation on your PC functions properly or not.

No, I've followed slh's advice. I've created a new /home partition and did copy/paste of some directories from the old /home to the new /home, and all (the reinstallation) was fine and the system was right also. However the main problem showed up again when I dist-upgraded. With a new kernel, the issues come back.

Thanks for your interest.

Luis_P.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.11.2012, 10:10
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

1. "all (the reinstallation) was fine and the system was right also"
means iceweasel worked as it should before dist-upgrade?

2. Have you installed anything manually between the 'working system'
(with regard to the current iceweasel problem) and dist-upgrading?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.11.2012, 11:04



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
1- Yes, it ran as expected

2- As far I can remember, I did not install anything before d-u.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Maybe solved  PostPosted: 06.11.2012, 15:08
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      DeepDayze wrote:
      piper wrote:
      muchan wrote:
but you mix things... you have tried new user before reinstallation,
you tried new insteration with old configuration.
So from what I see, you have never tried fresh configuration after
reinstallation. In other word, we don't know if pristine aptosid
after installation on your PC functions properly or not.


Exact reason(s) I never use a separate home on a rolling release, it *can muck things up if not watched carefully.


You CAN have a separate /home if you rename your old /home/$USERNAME and then allow the installer to put /home on the root partition. Move the /home/$USERNAME to the partition where you keep your /home and add an entry in fstab for it. Don't forget to move your data from your backed up old username to the new one.

Hope that helps


actually, it doesn't help me at all, I just don't bother, nothing beats a "clean" install and is easier to diagnose for problems that may arise.

have i done it before, sure, but to me, it's like using a phillips screwdriver on a straight head screw

i did post this, for those that do use a separate home.

it *can muck things up if not watched carefully.

i am not a fan at all of this procedure, as to me, it takes out the "clean" of a "clean install"

however, that is the beauty of linux
it's your choice

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.11.2012, 11:28
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      Luis_P wrote:
1- Yes, it ran as expected

2- As far I can remember, I did not install anything before d-u.


Now, then detailed questions

1.A. Did it work properly with clean installation before you copied your config files? (I assume Yes)

1.B. Did it work properly with clean installation after you copied your config files, but with dist-upgrade?

if 1.B. is yes, then problem is in some updated packages...

(Just to make sure, don't you think your problem is same or related to the problem of these thread?
http://www.aptosid.com/index.php?name=P ... amp;t=2364
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... mp;p=15720
)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.11.2012, 18:00



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
Thanks for your interest muchan, but that the second/new user cannot start iceweasel is not a real problem because actually there is no second user in my system. He was created only for test purposes. And also I've tried the advices of these post with no luck.

My real and big problem is the bad behaviour of the system (with new kernels) when sending files to the net or doing authentication, as explained.

Regards.

Luis_P.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.11.2012, 23:18
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
The symptoms are pretty strange and I guess everyone ran out of ideas, so lets suggest "strange" things:

Do you have an up-to-date BIOS? (see also manual).
And do you have the microcode package for your CPU installed (from non-free; see manual)?

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.11.2012, 12:28
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

(quoted from other thread, but concerning the problem of this thread)

      Luis_P wrote:

On the other hand, I had thought to use a virtual machine for the (big) problem with authentication, but I am afraid it is not practical: I should change very often between VM and normal system. It is much better to start with an old kernel (3.1-6.slh.1) which runs smoothly. I do not know if I can do so much, because there will be a gap between the kernel and the packages more and more wide.

Luis_P.


You say your problem (of authentication on browser) does not appear on dist-upgraded system
if you start old kernel? I think you have never said it on the thread...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.11.2012, 19:20



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:

You say your problem (of authentication on browser) does not appear on dist-upgraded system
if you start old kernel? I think you have never said it on the thread...

Yes, muchan, I said it (please, see post 28.10.2012, 23:25 in this thread).

Anyway, the problem is not solved but almost, because I can run aptosid smoothly with the old kernel. My concern now is if there will be a discordance between the kernel (old) and the packages (new).

Thanks again.

Luis_P.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.11.2012, 23:36
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

[quote="Luis_P"]
      muchan wrote:

Yes, muchan, I said it (please, see post 28.10.2012, 23:25 in this thread).
Luis_P.


Oh, sorry. Really I didn't read that post enough carefully...

So, it's not just about problem of some debian packages, but rather interaction between the new package and features of new kernels about authentication...

Only way to search true reason of problem would be
(1) gradually update kernels to find at which upgrade the problem appears.
and
(2) with that kerenel gradually upgrade debian packages (with snapshots?) to find out which version of which packages causes
problem,
then with difference of codes in both kernel and the package, the real reason of the problem would be known...

[edit: no... this (2) is not necessary... since old kernel and new system works... so some change in kernel triggered the problem... ]

but... you can use the old kernel without problem. so I it's practically solved...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject: Again  PostPosted: 03.12.2012, 13:55



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
More info about this problem.

Now I'm sure that it is a kernel 3.6 issue. The new born Thanatos (kernel 3.6.9) has also the problem.

I've tried with others distros. With a live disk of Cinnarch, which has the 3.6.6.1 kernel, I cannot access to a web page which needs to be identified (user name and password), as said before. On the other hand, a live disk of sabayon (kernel 3.5.0) runs fine. My wife's laptop, which has aptosid with two kernels, presents the same behavior: kernel 3.6.8 doesn't run well but 3.5.4 does fine.

This information is for developers, since I think there will be more people beaten by this issue.

Regards.

Luis_P.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: Again  PostPosted: 03.12.2012, 17:40
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

did you tried to scan the /var/log/ files for any system messages on the nonworking booted system?

If it's something kernel related i would expect some dust there

could also have/exist some related and relevant info on .xsession-errors this on $HOME.

Did you tried with iceweasel started in safe mode?

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio